World Olympic Football Tournament 2020

The Olympic Football Tournament, which will take place in seven stadiums across Japan, will provide fans with a thrilling match worthy of the national competition.


Olympic Football is a game in which a team consists of 11 players and drives the ball to the opponent’s goal to score. Since the ball is all the tools needed to play the game, it is a sport that is easy for everyone to enjoy and is gaining great popularity around the world. Football is enjoyed by over 250 million people in over 200 countries.


The rules for playing football were created in London in 1863 by the then newly formed Football Association. The FIFA World Cup, which has been held every four years since 1930, is an international, large-scale event with high audience ratings around the world.


By the way, did you know that the history of men’s Olympic soccer is longer than that of the FIFA World Cup? With the exception of the 1932 Los Angeles Olympics, all Olympics have held soccer since the 1900 Olympics in Paris. Until the 1984 Olympics, only amateur athletes were allowed to participate, and these days Olympic soccer is attracting a lot of attention as it plays a role in showing young and talented athletes to the world.


The reason young athletes stand out at the Olympic Football is the under-23 competition rule introduced at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics. And starting with the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, teams began to allow three athletes over the age of 23 to be included.


Women’s competitions started at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics and there is no age limit. With the adoption of women’s football as an official Olympic sport, women’s football is growing in popularity all over the world.

Detailed events

  • 16 Team Tournament (Men)
  • 12 Team Tournament (Women)

The core of the event

Great Goals, Great Matches As it is

widely known, the goal of football is to score more goals than your opponents. The two teams play the game for 45 minutes each, and if there is a draw in the tournament stage, extra time and penalty shootouts are held to determine the match.


Fifteen men’s national teams excluding host country Japan will qualify for participation in tournaments held by the Six Continental Football Federations. The women’s team won the Olympic Football in the same way, and a total of 11 teams will compete with Japan.


Both men’s and women’s matches are organized in a way that goes through the group stage stage and then into the knockout tournament stage. Divide the teams into groups of 4 and play 1 match between each team. In the group stage, 3 points are awarded for victory, 1 point for draw, and 0 points for loss. The top two teams from each group (as well as the top two teams that finished third in the Women’s Tournament) advance to a knockout round in the quarter-finals, quarter-finals, finals and bronze medals.


From the 2000 Sydney Olympics, football began specifically to play before the opening ceremony. This is to ensure that players have a tight schedule so they have enough recovery time between matches.


Soccer players must have basic speed, strength, and stamina, as well as the ability to handle the ball as well as the ability to digest tactics. The referee who watches the foul situation may give a yellow card to the player and the player who receives the second yellow card will be sent off. A player who commits a serious offense is immediately awarded a red card and may be sent off. In this case, the opposing team has one numerical advantage and can play an advantageous match. The referee may give a free kick at the point of infringement. Any infringement in the penalty area will result in a penalty kick to the opposing team.

Tokyo 2020 Games Outlook

As the amateur era came, the number of countries winning men’s soccer tournaments widened, but most recently, South American countries are gaining strength. Brazil, which has won the most World Cup titles, won its first Olympic gold medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics with home crowd watching. Mexico defeated Brazil in the 2012 London Olympics finals, while Argentina beat South American rival Paraguay in the finals in both Beijing 2008 and Athens 2004.


Spain was the last European country to win a gold medal and won a gold medal at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics held in it. Meanwhile, the gold medal has not yet come out in Asia. Japan won the bronze medal at the 1968 Mexico Olympics and placed fourth at the 2012 London Olympics.


The United States has won four Olympic women’s football in six so far, but lost to Sweden in the quarterfinals at the 2016 Rio Olympics. Sweden lost to Germany 2-1 in the final, and the silver and gold medals were taken by Germany. Japan took second place at the 2012 London Olympics. These countries may win Tokyo 2020, but with football advancing around the world, a new dark horse may emerge.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *